A Million Brilliant Shadows

Everything Austen: Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict

Posted on: 27 August 2009

Each of us has the power to create heaven or hell, right here, right now. I do not know how I have come to be in this time, in this place, in this body. But I do know that any place where there are six novels by the author of Pride and Prejudice must be a very special sort of heaven.” – Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict, Laurie Viera Rigler (pg. 53)

“Most of us walk through our daily lives as if we were asleep.  We regard not what is before our eyes.  We see not how we construct the fantasies of our own and others’ inventions without having the smallest knowledge of what we, or they, are truly about.  We are all imaginists, storytellers if you will, and the pity is that none of us recognizes his sorry state.” – Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict (pg. 105)

My synopsis: Jane Mansfield find herself inhabiting the body of Courtney Stone.  Completely overwhelmed by the technology and lifestyles she finds in the year 2009, Jane has to adapt to the shambles she finds Courtney’s life in while trying to do everything in her power to make things better.

My thoughts: Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict was also a quick and easy read. I started reading it last night as soon as I finished reading and writing my review of  Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict and finished reading it earlier today.  I really enjoyed the book.  It was interesting to see how Jane Mansfield would react and adapt to the modern world she found herself in.  Rude Awakenings also answered all the questions that Confessions left me wondering about.

The only complaint I have with the book concerns the language.  It struck me as being awkward at times.  However, I’m beginning to think that it was just because the author was trying to make Jane’s character as real as possible without reverting a full-scale rendition of authentic Austen prose.  (There’s a sentence that puts my B.A. in English to work.)

I have to say that Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict and Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict were definitely the easiest tasks I’ve completely for Everything Austen.  I was able to read and review both books in about two and half days.

4 Responses to "Everything Austen: Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict"

What do you think about how when Courtney, in Jane’s body, had people telling her that she had talked about Abe Lincoln and other modern changes? And the same with Jane in Courtney when she found the drawings of herself (Jane) that Courtney drew? Is the author saying since time doesn’t really exist/not linear then this is why? That was so confusing to me…would love to hear your thoughts!

I’ve been thinking about this for a while and finally come to this conclusion: Jane and Courtney had some kind of cosmic connection that made them aware of each other without really being aware of the fact that they are aware of each other. This cosmic connection allowed their souls/minds to jump across time to each others’ bodies. The whole time doesn’t exist/isn’t linear issue doesn’t really come in to play for me because it confuses things too much. How could Courtney really experience things in Jane’s life and time if they were really happening concurrently with her own actual life? That would mean there would have to be more than one dimension in our own time, like the Civil War, the World War I, the Great Depression, and the Korean War are all concurrently occurring in their own times while we are living our lives right now.

This is what makes literature great. We can all take something different away from the same book. Nobody can have a wrong answer because we all look at things differently.

I felt the same way about both books – I was dissapointed with the way the first book ended but was satisfied that some of the unanswered questions were resolved in book two.

Leave a Reply

101 Goals in 1001 Days

Start date: 19 July 2009
End date: 15 April 2012

Total goals: 85
Goals to be determined: 16
Goals completed: 4
Goals in progress: 10

You can find my full list here.

**My goal project is on hold until September so I can figure some things out**

Archives

