A Million Brilliant Shadows

Everything Austen: Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict

Posted on: 27 August 2009

I’ve gotten into the habit of writing my reviews by hand and then typing them up and posting when I have the time. It keeps me on task more than staring at a blank screen with the internet beckoning me away to Facebook and other time-wasting things.

“There are many possibilities.  The night your attention left your home was time of a rare planetary configuration, the likes of which had not been seen in hundreds of years. Such a formation takes the fluid quality of time and makes it like quicksilver, with little clusters forming, breaking apart, and re-forming. then it becomes like the air, floating, escaping through the tiniest openings, before it becomes its usual liquid state.  Anything is possible during such events.  It is when the doors that are already there open wider than ever before and time defies its usual boundaries, if boundaries they could ever be called.” – Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict, Laurie Viera Rigler (pg. 184)

My synopsis: Courtney Stone is woken up one morning by people she doesn’t know in room she’s never seen before inhabiting a body that no amount of plastic surgery could have believably made hers.  Stuck in an era she’d only visited through the works of Jane Austen, Courtney must come to terms not only with her own wounds but those of the Jane Mansfield, the woman whose body she finds herself inhabiting.

My thoughts: I’m not going to lie.  I was wary of Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict.  My library classified it as a romance and I don’t read books classified as romances.  Sorry. I just don’t. However, I was wary for no reason.  My library obviously stuck this book into the wrong classification.  It should be put in the general fiction section instead.

Despite my initial reservations, I really enjoyed this book.  It was a very quick and easy read.  I loved that it took people and places from Austen’s novels and time and put them into modern terms.  I guess I was initially expecting the novel to try to emulate the language that Austen would have used.  I just can’t get into books written by modern writers who are trying to make their works sound like they were written two hundred years ago by a British author.  (I tried to read Syrie James’ novels  The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen and The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte, but just couldn’t do it.  I gave up before I’d made it more than two chapters in.

I wasn’t exactly crazy about the ending.  Not that I had a problem with it.   I just felt like the ending kind of came out of nowhere.  It left me with some unanswered questions, but that must have been the point since we now have Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict.  I’m really looking forward to getting into  Rude Awakenings.  I’m hoping it is going to answer the questions that Confessions left hanging over my head.

1 Response to "Everything Austen: Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict"

Ending…didn’t like at all, and some questions got answered for me in Rude Awakenings, but not all…so hopefully you enjoy it and let me know if it does answer your questions and how, because I’d love it hear what other people think!

Leave a Reply

101 Goals in 1001 Days

Start date: 19 July 2009
End date: 15 April 2012

Total goals: 85
Goals to be determined: 16
Goals completed: 4
Goals in progress: 10

You can find my full list here.

**My goal project is on hold until September so I can figure some things out**

Archives

