A Million Brilliant Shadows

The Wonderful World of Adulthood

Posted on: 25 August 2009

I’m a few days late in writing this, but 5 month old baby girls take precedence over all the other things that Mommy would like to do.

This week’s Sunday Scribblings:

What are your thoughts on adulthood? What do you want to be when you grow up? Are you scared of being an adult? Have you been forced to be the adult in a relationship? Do you have an adult child who won’t grow up? Are you glad to finally be an adult? What do you think?

When I was a teenager, I couldn’t wait to be an adult. I thought everything was going to be fine and dandy. I’d finish school, get a job, get married, buy a house, and all that fun stuff. I wouldn’t have to answer to anyone but myself. I’d make all the rules. Haha. Who was I kidding? I guess just myself.

Being an adult is hard work. Being an adult means worrying about bringing in enough money to pay all the bills and buy all the necessities while still trying to have a little bit left over to pay for the extra things that make life a little better. Being an adult means making sacrifices. You need to go to the eye doctor? You need to make your car note? Your husband accidentally busted your gas meter while trying to cut down a tree and now you have to pay the gas company for a new meter AND the weekend pay for the worker who came to turn off the leak? One of those things ain’t going happen and you can guess which two it ain’t gonna be.

Plus, you have to deal with other adults, who, by the way, all really suck. You’d think the ones who have kids will understand how much having a 5 month old takes over your life. You do things when they are convenient for your baby, not you. Yes, I know people (aka the writers of all those parenting books I never read and won’t ever listen to) say you shouldn’t do this, but it’s better than holding an overly tired child who has been screaming so long she’s red in the face for over an hour before she finally goes to sleep because other people made you feel like a horrible person because you would rather let your child get her nap out in an attempt to avoid the aforementioned public scenario. Of course, the whole incident could have been avoided had we not let other people’s thoughts and feelings affect what we felt.

Being an adult is one big headache right after another. If I could go back in time, I wouldn’t be in so much of a hurry to grow up. Hopefully, I’ll be able to teach my daughter to cherish the present and not worry so much about rushing along the future.

1 Response to "The Wonderful World of Adulthood"

oddly, i’d never want to be younger than 30 ever again.

hope you and your daughter continue to enjoy sunday’s together in a way taht allows you no time for anything else…

Leave a Reply

101 Goals in 1001 Days

Start date: 19 July 2009
End date: 15 April 2012

Total goals: 85
Goals to be determined: 16
Goals completed: 4
Goals in progress: 10

You can find my full list here.

**My goal project is on hold until September so I can figure some things out**

Archives

