A Million Brilliant Shadows

Musing Monday (8/17)

Posted on: 17 August 2009

This week’s Musing Monday:

How do you react to movies made of your favorite books (or even not-so-favorite books)? Do you look forward to seeing them, or avoid them? Do you like to have read the book before seeing the movie?

I’ve been thinking about movies based on books a lot lately. It seems like there are a ton of book-based films either out or coming out soon (Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, My Sister’s Keeper, The Time Traveler’s Wife, and The Lovely Bones are the few that come to mind right now). I really think it’s a good idea, most of the time. Sometimes people gain an interest in reading the books because they’ve watched the films. This has happened with me with In Her Shoes and Twilight. However, it’s a bit of a disappointment when the film deviates too much from the book. In sixth grade, I watched Gone With the Wind for the first time and loved it. Imagine my surprise when I finally get around to reading the book and found out that Scarlett had three kids and Mammy helped her steal Frank Kennedy from her sister Suellen, among the many other things. Not that I don’t love the film and see where they were coming from. Can you imagine how much longer the film would have been if they’d tried to include more elements from the book? I just think filmmakers should at least try to stay as true to the book as they can.

Most of the time I look forward to seeing them. It’s interesting to see how the characters come to life on the screen and if the actor or actress who was casted comes close to looking like I imagined the character would. I’d rather read the book before I watch the movie, though, for that same reason. Once I’ve seen the film, I cannot imagine the character as looking like anyone other than the actor or actress who played them. I like getting a picture of the character in my mind first and then comparing it to how other people viewed them.

2 Responses to "Musing Monday (8/17)"

I can usually enjoy a movie and its book seperately, but I do try to read the book before seeing the movie.

Here’s my musing…

Its great that because of the movies, people are more aware of the book where the story came from. I also anticipate the adaption sometimes but more often, I’m disappointed. I’d stick to the book :)

Leave a Reply

101 Goals in 1001 Days

Start date: 19 July 2009
End date: 15 April 2012

Total goals: 85
Goals to be determined: 16
Goals completed: 4
Goals in progress: 10

You can find my full list here.

**My goal project is on hold until September so I can figure some things out**

Archives

