A Million Brilliant Shadows

Let’s Have a Dinner Party

Posted on: 16 August 2009

This week’s Sunday Scribblings:

I wanted to do something a little different this week, so you are getting more structure than normal. Do you ever play the game where you decide who you would invite to your fantasy dinner party?

The rules are:
– you can invite anyone, living or dead
– you have a table that seats eight, but as you are one, you can invite seven people
– you have to explain why you’d invite them

And for bonus points:
– what would you serve them for dinner?

As soon as I read the prompt for this week, I thought it was going to be hard. Obviously I want to choose people I can learn something from, but I wasn’t sure how I was going to narrow it down. Then it hit me: I knew just the people to invite.

  • My great-grandfather – He died when I was in first grade. My earliest memories are of spending time with him. He was born in 1918, so he had so much first hand knowledge of things that happened in the twentieth century. It would be interesting just to be able to talk to him and hear his stories so that they can be passed on to others.
  • My great-grandmother – After my great-grandfather died, I didn’t spend as much time with her. She died the summer before sixth grade. I wish I would have realized all the things I could have learned from her before it was too late.
  • My husband’s father – He died a month before my husband’s tenth birthday.
  • My husband and his two younger sisters – I know they would really love to have the chance to talk to their dad. They were all so young (9, 6, and 2) when he died that they don’t really remember much and what they do remember is slowing fading away.
  • My daughter – So she can meet her grandfather.

Deciding what I’d serve for dinner was the easiest part of all. I can just imagine a huge table laid out buffet-style with lasagna, spaghetti and meatballs, caesar salad, pasta salad, garlic bread, and cheese bread. Maybe that’s a bit much for eight people, but I’d rather have too much and have to eat leftovers than not have enough to go around.

6 Responses to "Let’s Have a Dinner Party"

buffet style brings me back to my childhood family gatherings!

Yes, the perfect people! And your menu is making me hungry!

sounds very personable.

sorry about your husband. that must be hard =/ sounds like a great list!

the best of all..family that did not get to know each other,I especially love your dinner. my kind of food.

Leave a Reply

101 Goals in 1001 Days

Start date: 19 July 2009
End date: 15 April 2012

Total goals: 85
Goals to be determined: 16
Goals completed: 4
Goals in progress: 10

You can find my full list here.

**My goal project is on hold until September so I can figure some things out**

Archives

