A Million Brilliant Shadows

Everything Austen: Northanger Abbey (Part I)

Posted on: 14 August 2009

I just finished reading Northanger Abbey, the second book I’ve read for my Everything Austen challenge.

Northanger Abbey follows Catherine Morland as she vacations in Bath with her neighbors, Mr. and Mrs. Allen. Used to live in the country, she is a bit in awe of all the activities and amusements that Bath offers her. Catherine becomes acquainted with two sets of siblings (Isabella and John Thorpe, Henry and Eleanor Tilney) and the relationships that develop bring about circumstances that change the lives of those involved.

I was pleasantly surprised with what a quick and easy read Northanger Abbey was. At only 205 pages, it didn’t drag on endlessly. For the most part, it was a good book. As with Emma, most of the characters rubbed me the wrong way. Isabella Thorpe was a shallow, self-centered, gold-digging brat. Her brother John wasn’t much different. In fact, much of the trouble in the novel could have been adverted had John Thorpe never gone to Bath, but then we wouldn’t have had a novel. Catherine was a decent heroine. Very naïve, but decent. When she developed her theory of what really happened to Mrs. Tilney, Catherine reminded me a bit of the main character in The Female Quixote. (I think that’s the title anyway. I had to read it over two years ago for British literature course. It’s about a girl who reads romance novels and then begins imagining that every male on earth wants to kidnap and ravish her. {Edit 8/15: The Female Quixote was the title of the book.)

I still have to watch the film version of Northanger Abbey. I picked it up from the library earlier in the week and will be watching it over the weekend so the review soon be up within the next week or so.

2 Responses to "Everything Austen: Northanger Abbey (Part I)"

Oh, I’m looking forward to your movie review (in comparison to the book)!

I also was surprised by the quick read of Northanger Abbey. Most of the non-hero/ine characters in Austen’s books I find rather annoying too! I enjoyed the newest version of Northanger Abbey and I’m sure you will too. Can’t wait to hear how it went!

Leave a Reply

101 Goals in 1001 Days

Start date: 19 July 2009
End date: 15 April 2012

Total goals: 85
Goals to be determined: 16
Goals completed: 4
Goals in progress: 10

You can find my full list here.

**My goal project is on hold until September so I can figure some things out**

Archives

