A Million Brilliant Shadows

Embracing New

Posted on: 9 August 2009

This week’s Sunday Scribbling: What’s new in your life? What new things should you be embracing? What does new mean to you?

I’m glad the prompt for this week didn’t automatically bring up a fictional response like last week’s did. It brought up something that I am going to have to get used to: having someone else take care of my child for a few hours a day. Up until now, I’ve only ever left my daughter with my husband (he really doesn’t count, though, does he?, my mother (twice, because we had to go to the airport to pick up family flying in from out of town), or my sister-in-law (once, while she was visiting from out of town). I’ve been able to take her to work with me, but now that she’s getting older (almost 5 months), my boss is not-so-subtly hinting that it’s time for that change.

Enter the search for daycare, which makes me uncomfortable. The only option we’d ever considered for daycare, long before we ever seriously considered having a baby, isn’t going to work and obviously never would have worked. We would’ve realized that if we had really thought it through, but we never really sat down and thought it through until recently.

So now I have to not only find someone to care for my daughter, but also get comfortable with the idea of leaving her with someone who isn’t me, a family member, or a friend. Frankly, it’s a little scary. Wait, no, it’s not a little scary. It’s very scary. Me leaving her with SOMEONE ELSE who isn’t me and who doesn’t know her like I do. This is what I need to embrace. Let’s just hope I can do it.

6 Responses to "Embracing New"

you have every reason to be cautious. check closely. good luck
from life experience I would consider finding something you could do from home or cut expenses somehow.

I wish I could say something reassuring but I had the same issues and ended up staying home for ten years with mine. I thank God that while it was a financial struggle every single day, I was able to do it and hopefully my kids are better for it. I haven’t ended up on Oprah or Jerry Springer yet but hey – it ain’t over yet…

What a wrenching choice. I hope you are able to find someone who is trustworthy and loving for your baby. I always felt we were extraordinarily lucky to have one of us at home with our daughter, though my husband took a lot of flack for being a stay-at-home husband. Have you talked with your boss? Can a compromise be worked out? Can you telecommute? I wish you well in resolving this issue of daycare for your new and very precious child.

Thank you all for your wonderful advice. I really wish that telecommuting or staying home were options, but given my job duties and other factors neither will work right now. We’re hoping some things change soon though.

Stopping by to wish you good luck. New experiences and change is always scary, especially when you have a little one.

This is definitely a BIG – NEW – thing. it is scary letting someone you love stay with a stranger, but soon you’ll find the right person and they won’t be a stranger anymore. Best of luck finding the right person.

Leave a Reply

101 Goals in 1001 Days

Start date: 19 July 2009
End date: 15 April 2012

Total goals: 85
Goals to be determined: 16
Goals completed: 4
Goals in progress: 10

You can find my full list here.

**My goal project is on hold until September so I can figure some things out**

Archives

