A Million Brilliant Shadows

Bad Habits

Posted on: 7 August 2009

We all have bad habits. There’s no getting away from them. The only thing we can do is recognize that we have them and then work on getting rid of them. Some times that just isn’t the easiest thing in the world. Trust me, I know from experience. I’ve been battling some bad habits for a long time and still haven’t conquered them. I need to really work on getting rid of these things so I can set a better example for my daughter.

1) I’m a procrastinator.

Yes, I admit it. I routinely wait until the last minute to do a lot of things, especially in my personal life. At home I don’t have the same rigid time constraints as I do at work. So what if the laundry basket is overflowing with towels as long as there are two or three clean towels left in the bathroom? It’s no big deal. The laundry can wait. So what if I know two weeks in advance that we are going to have company on Saturday evening? I can get everything I need done on Saturday morning. Stressing out over it isn’t a big deal. I’ll do better next time, I really will. Only I really don’t. I just keep going through this cycle again and again.

2) I’m a complainer.

A HUGE complainer. As anyone who knows me can tell you, I enjoy complaining about everything: the weather, the traffic, neighborhood children, the grocery store. Name anything you can think of and I can probably find some aspect of it that’s worth complaining about. It’s an big emotion drain.

3) I have a hard time with forgiving and forgetting, especially when it comes to myself.

This is the biggest emotional drain I can think of. I think this one doesn’t need much explanation. We all deal with this at some time in our lives, but we can’t let it consume us. Learning to completely forgive and forget (myself, especially) is going to be a hard journey.

4) I’m chronically last minute.

I’ve figured out the absolute last minute I can leave my house and still make it to work within a few minutes (meaning two or three) of when I’m supposed to me there. Of course, this is barring any unforeseen event like a traffic jam caused by a wreck or road construction. It doesn’t seem like it such a big deal since my boss and coworkers are always arriving a few minutes on the other side of 9 A.M. The more it happens and the more it’s able to slide, the more acceptable letting it happens seems.

5) Some of my best qualities don’t show in all aspects of my life.

My boss always says how organized and meticulous I am in my everyday work duties, but you wouldn’t know it if you looked at my personal life. I have clutter everywhere.

As my husband can tell you, this list is in no way a comprehensive list of my bad habits. These are just the five things that immediately came to mind when I decided that bad habits would be a good topic to write about. As part of my 101 goals, I plan to make a list of the things I don’t like about myself (bad habits, attitude issues, etc.) and either change them or just get over them (if it’s something that isn’t changeable, say, a physical trait), so further discussion on bad habits is sure to pop up at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

101 Goals in 1001 Days

Start date: 19 July 2009
End date: 15 April 2012

Total goals: 85
Goals to be determined: 16
Goals completed: 4
Goals in progress: 10

You can find my full list here.

**My goal project is on hold until September so I can figure some things out**

Archives

